The Beginning

Just went out for a run,yes, that’s a great way to start my first blog post about running!

I have been talking about starting a blog since December of last year.It’s now August,so I guess now is as a good of a time as any.

I relocated back to my hometown area,the Chicago suburbs,in December, after living in Jacksonville,FL for 10 years. After spending the summer training for a half marathon in the hot and humid FL weather,running in the freezing cold Chicago winter was a huge change for me!  Many runs were done on my local indoor track and the treadmill.

A little background on my running history:

I never liked running when I was younger. I ran in track in 5-8th grade,my races of choice were the 100 and 200 meter sprints. I dreaded the 1 mile PE requirement once a year and would do anything to get out of it. While living down in Jacksonville,FL,I loved going to Disney. I had a gym membership,and was always looking for challenges. I read that Disney had a few running events a year where you ran through the parks. I took this on as my personal challenge. I signed up for the Tower of Terror 13K in 2009. After crossing the finish line,and receiving my medal,I was hooked! At that time though,I never thought that I would run a half marathon,let alone now, training to run my first marathon. Never say never!

I plan to use this blog for a place to record my thoughts on my training and races,along with hopefully motivating others to never give up!

Leave a Reply

